Skip to main content


Miami-Dade County Expressway Authority has a nine member Board of Directors. The Board reflects a broad spectrum of management, business, professional, public service and government expertise.

Of the nine members, eight are non-paid local business and civic leaders. The ninth member is the Florida Department of Transportation District Six Secretary, who serves as a voting member of the MDX Board of Directors. Of the current eight volunteers, Florida's Governor appoints three and the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners appoints the remaining five members. In 2016 the Florida Legislature adopted a bill that reduces MDX to a nine member Board of Directors with three appointed by the Florida Governor, five appointed by the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners and the Florida Department of Transportation District Six Secretary serving as the ninth member of the Board of Directors. The current board members are featured below.

Jose "Pepe" Diaz
Miami-Dade County Commission Chairman
Luz Weinberg
GlobComm, LLC
Stacy L. Miller
District VI Secretary, Florida Department of Transportation
Darlene M. Fernandez, P.E.
Assistant Director, Traffic Services
Department of Transportation and Public works, Miami Dade County
Jean Monestime
Miami-Dade County Commissioner
Shelly Smith Fano
Executive Director of the Hospitality Institute Program,
Miami Dade College's Miami International Hospitality Center

The Miami-Dade County Expressway Authority Staff

Miami-Dade County Expressway Authority operates in Miami-Dade County with a staff of approximately 29 professionals who are committed to making your commute safer and more efficient. The agency is headed by Executive Director, Javier Rodriguez, P.E.